"The Dramatists Guild Fund is there to catch you when you fall...With its financial support, the Dramatists Guild Fund helped me get through one of the toughest times of my career."
Katori Hall
2010 Olivier Award winner for The Mountaintop

"I applied to the Fund when I was in real and totally unromantic trouble...The Fund does not dole out statues and plaques; it gives people help when people need help."
Will Eno
Pulitzer Prize finalist for Thom Pain (based on nothing)

"The Fund helped me at a very crucial time—most every writer knows what I'm talking about: that knuckle-gnawing period between a commission and royalty check."
Michael John LaChuisa
(Hello, Again; Marie Christine; The Wild Party)

    • Aiding and nurturing writers for the theater
    • Funding non-profit theaters producing contemporary American works
    • Reaching out to the public with education programs to heighten awareness, appreciation, and support of theater across the country.

    DGF Gala: Great Writers Thank Their Lucky Stars on October 27, 2014!

$19,300 Emergency Grant from DGF Helps Soho Rep. Recover From Loss

Soho Rep.'s Executive Director Cynthia Flowers said, "That kind of generous and immediate response is truly exceceptional, even among funders like the Dramatists Guild Fund who already do so much good work for writers and theaterrs across the country.  It's an extraordinary example of the wonderful people and organizations that came together to help us recover after a very disappointing moment this spring..."


DGF Wins the Ellen Stewart Award for Stewardship

Ellen Stewart Award for Stewardship," states Dramatists Guild Fund Executive DirectorRachel Routh. "For over 50 years, the Dramatists Guild Fund's mission has been to nurture and support writers at all stages of their careers, and this award puts the spotlight not only on our work but the fundamental truth that the future of theater depends on the endurance of its writers."

Original Cast Members of

Joanna Gleason, Chip Zien, Sydney Lucas, Matthew Broderick, and Christine Ebersole are among the actors who will perform as part of the Dramatists Guild Fund's Great Writers Thank Their Lucky Stars gala Oct.27 at the Edison Ballroom.  Ann Gottlieb and Heidi Ettinger are the year's special honorees.